Trout Creek Mountains, COA 204

Photo Credit: Rodney Klus, ODFW

Spanning an area in the southeastern corner Harney County and southwestern Malheur County, this COA encompasses the Trout Creek Mountains, the Oregon Canyon Mountains, and the Blue Mountains. It includes numerous Wilderness Study Areas, such as Disaster Peak, Alvord Desert, Fifteenmile Creek, Mahogany Ridge, Oregon Canyon, Twelvemile Creek, and Willow Creek.

COA ID: 204

Local Conservation Actions and Plans

Potential Partners

Special Features


  • Aspen and Mahogany woodlands provide important breeding habitat for many rare songbirds
  • Sage Grouse Low Density and Core Habitat Areas
  • Trout Creek and Oregon Canyon Mountains contain several rare fish species

Previously Associated With

  • 2006 COA ID NBR-11 (Trout Creek Mountains)


Strategy Habitats

Specialized Local Habitats

  • Alpine-Montane Wet Meadow
  • Cliff and Rim Rock
  • Mountain Mahogany Woodland and Savanna
  • Native Perennial Bunchgrasses

Strategy Species